Skip Navigation Links
Skip navigation links
About Us
Building Careers
FAQs
Key Information
MTL
Our Courses
Our Offer
Our Partners
Our People
PLW
Videos
Your Role
Your Work
Skip navigation links
About Us
Building Careers
FAQs
Key Information
MTL
Our Courses
Our Offer
Our Partners
Our People
PLW
Videos
Your Role
Your Work
Our People
 

We draw upon on experienced staff across a range of disciplines and outstanding teaching.

Our teams of course leaders, academics, tutors and administrative staff work together to support your professional development. Many of our alumni, who have completed a programme of study, continue to work with us, often directly as mentors, or indirectly as leaders and managers, supporting and developing others in their careers.

Academic tutors play an important role in supporting and guiding your study, learning and professional development.

When you begin study with us you will be allocated an academic tutor. This person is the first point of contact if you have any issues you wish to discuss about your overall progress on the Programme. In particular it is the academic tutor’s role to provide detailed guidance about module choices and the consequences of particular selections. He/she monitors your focus for assignments to ensure that the prescribed number of focussed modules have been completed to provide eligibility for a given named award. The role of the academic tutor encompasses the general oversight of students’ academic and professional progress throughout the course.

Teaching staff on the Professional Development Programme offer a range of different subject specialisms, and extensive experience of working in the sector. This expertise is offered to you via:

• Teaching and supporting your study on the modules and routes
• Working in a consultancy role alongside you or your colleagues in your institution
• Supporting your professional development through career tutoring

Contact the CPD student support team.

Our CPD administrative team works to support your work with us, from joining to graduating. If you require further course information, please do not hesitate to contact the CPD administration team who will be happy to answer any queries you may have. Administrators manage all student records.  You should contact the administrator for your route for queries to do with enrolment, fees, records, SHU cards and any other administrative matters.

Administrators

Route

Lynn Smith

Autism

Barbara Vesey

Inclusion/Integrated Working/ Post Compulsory Education and Training

Jackie Harness

Leadership and Management

James Kirwan

Learning and Teaching

Claire Clayton

Early Childhood Studies

 

Cross Programme Modules

Rosemary Cartledge

Enquiring Practitioner/Extended Professional Project

James Kirwan

Professional Learning in the Workplace/Reflecting on Professional Learning

 

Specialist Awards

Barbara Vesey

PgCert Learning & Teaching in Higher Education

Contact details for Administrators are:

Administrator

email

Tel. No.

David Gubbins : CPD Administration Team Leader

d.gubbins@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5325

Lisa Kirkup : CPD Administration Team Leader

l.kirkup@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 6196

Jackie Harness

j.harness@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5333

James Kirwan

j.kirwan@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5345

Barbara Vesey

b.vesey@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5535

Lynn Smith

l.smith@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5420

Claire Clayton

c.clayton@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5346

Rosemary Cartledge

r.a.cartledge@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5899

 Route Leaders

 When you started your study with us you will have been enrolled on one of our routes:

Route

Route Leader

email

Tel. No.

Autism

Sue Chantler

s.chantler@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 4549

Early Childhood Studies

Caron Carter

C.Carter@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 4741

Inclusion

Niki Elliot

N.Elliot@shu.ac.uk             

0114 225 5174

Learning and Teaching

Tansy Hardy

t.hardy@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5190

Leadership and Management

Paul Close

p.close@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 5169

Post Compulsory Education and Training

Mark Pettigrew

m.w.pettigrew@shu.ac.uk

0114 225 6107

 Alumni past and present.

At Sheffield Hallam you will definitely find what you need and what your future employer is looking for.

Once you complete your studies with us it doesn't stop their. We feel that you are still important and that we as a University still care about you.

For more useful alumni information such as
 how to organise your reunion, how to get back in touch with your student friends, please visit our alumni website (opens new window).